Training history

Since the crisis of 1929, the profession of luthier was  in decline, especially in Mirecourt. Competition from wireless and microgroove records, then the new upheaval of the Second World War did not help matters. Mores evolved, new habits were taken, popular and mass-market music prevailed  over the classical repertoire. So much so that in the sixties, there weren't many luthiers left.

The last factory in Mirecourt, the Maison Laberte, closed its doors shortly before 1970.

In Mirecourt, which was nevertheless a world-renowned capital of lutherie, there remained more than a dozen craftsmen working on the manufacture of musical instruments, and very few apprentices were there. trained.

1964is an important year. Indeed, André Malraux, Minister of Cultural Affairs, entrusted Marcel Landowski with a major project: to give back to the French a taste for music by the creation of schools and conservatories.

This action is positive and proves to be an opportunity for French violin making. Indeed, we see that it is necessary to enlarge the stock of musical instruments, bowed string instruments in particular, and that a quality workforce is needed to maintain and adjust these instruments.

We realize that there is a real gap between generations and that we will have to train young luthiers. The few rare apprentices will not be enough.

The idea of a school is therefore essential.But will it be private or public? Located in Paris, Lyon, or Mirecourt?

The luthiersEtienne Vatelot,John Bauer,Jean Schmitt, participate among others in this debate. Finally, at the request of the Groupement des luthiers et archetiers d'art de France (GLAAF) and with the support of the ministries of culture and crafts and local authorities, a lutherie section was created within the nationalized high school of Mirecourt. .

In September 1970, the violin making school opens its doors. The very first students, five in number, work under the direction ofRene Morizot, artisan luthier based in Mirecourt. It was then necessary to organize everything, the material needs were enormous and the luthiers behind the project had to get their hands dirty by restoring the planes, workbenches, etc.
As of the following school year, a bow section is opened in the same premises, directed by
Bernard Ouchard, bow maker from Mirecourt.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Since that date, no less than 300 future luthiers and bow makers have gone through theNational School of Lutheriebefore completing their training in France and around the world.

1970 Inauguration Ecole.jpg
1971création_école_archèterie_1.jpg

Historique de la formation

Depuis la crise de 1929, le métier de luthier était en déclin, tout particulièrement à Mirecourt. La concurrence de la T.S.F. et du disque microsillon puis le nouveau bouleversement de la deuxième guerre mondiale n’arrangaient pas les choses. Les mœurs évoluaient, de nouvelles habitudes se prennaient, la musique populaire et de grande diffusion l’emportait sur le répertoire classique. Tant et si bien que dans les années soixante, il n’y avait plus beaucoup de luthiers.

La dernière manufacture de Mirecourt, la maison Laberte, ferme ses portes peu avant 1970.

Dans Mirecourt, qui fut pourtant une capitale de la lutherie mondialement reconnue, il ne restait plus qu’une dizaine d’artisans travaillant à la fabrication d’instruments de musique, et bien peu d’apprentis y étaient formés.

1964 est une année importante. En effet, André Malraux, ministre des affaires culturelles, charge Marcel Landowski d’un grand projet : redonner aux Français le goût de la musique par la création d’écoles et de conservatoires.

Cette action est positive et s’avère une chance pour la lutherie Française. En effet, on constate qu’il faut agrandir le parc d’instruments de musique, à cordes frottées en particulier, et qu’il faut une main-d’œuvre de qualité pour entretenir et régler ces instruments.

On se rend compte qu’il y a un véritable creux de générations et qu’il va falloir former de jeunes luthiers. Les quelques rares apprentis ne suffiront pas.

L’idée d’une école s’impose donc. Mais sera-t-elle privée ou publique ? Située à Paris, à Lyon, ou à Mirecourt ?

Les luthiers Étienne Vatelot, Jean Bauer, Jean Schmitt, participent parmi d’autres à ce débat. Finalement, à la demande du Groupement des luthiers et archetiers d’art de France (GLAAF) et avec le soutien des ministères de la culture et de l’artisanat et des autorités locales, une section lutherie est créée au sein du lycée nationalisé de Mirecourt.

En septembre 1970, l’école de lutherie ouvre ses portes. Les tout premiers élèves, au nombre de cinq, travaillent sous la direction de René Morizot, artisan luthier installé à Mirecourt. Il faut alors tout organiser, les besoins matériels sont énormes et les luthiers à l’origine du projet doivent mettre la main à la pâte en remettant en état rabots, établis, etc.
Dès la rentrée suivante, s’ouvre dans les mêmes locaux une section archèterie dirigée par
Bernard Ouchard, archetier originaire de Mirecourt.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Depuis cette date ce ne sont pas moins de 300 futurs luthiers et archetiers qui sont passés par l’École Nationale de Lutherie avant de parfaire leur formation en France et à travers le monde.